Industry Awards for City Projects

Decision Maker: Council

Decision status: Recommendations Determined


Minute by the Lord Mayor

To Council:

Each year, the value of our commitment to design excellence is demonstrated in the quality of the public infrastructure we are developing. Beautifully designed and functional, these projects are contributing to and enhancing the liveability of our city.

Once again, a number of our public infrastructure projects have been recognised over the past few months at a number of industry awards, including the 2019 Australian Institute of Architects (NSW) Awards, the 2019 Australian Institute of Landscape Architects (NSW) Awards, the World Architecture Awards 2019 and the Green Building Council of Australia.

These awards are some of the most prestigious in the design and construction industry, recognising and celebrating outstanding achievements and excellence in architecture and landscape architecture. 

At the NSW Architecture Awards, the Green Square Library and Plaza won the Public Architecture Award, Urban Design Award, the John Verge Award for Interior Architecture and the NSW Premier’s Prize.

The jury chair for Interior Architecture and Commercial Architecture, Sandra Furtado, praised the library: “It is immediately obvious that this library is loved by its staff and the wider community – this building is already the vibrant heart of the community.”

Green Square Library and Plaza was also recognised for outstanding public domain in the NSW Landscape Architecture Awards, winning the Landscape Architecture Award – Civic Landscape. At the World Architecture Awards 2019, it won the Libraries Award.

Demonstrating that sustainability and design excellence can be achieved side-by-side, the Green Square Town Centre was awarded a 6 Star Green Star – Communities rating from the Green Building Council of Australia.

Harold Park has also received multiple awards, including the Lloyd Rees Award for Urban Design and the City of Sydney Lord Mayor’s Prize at the NSW Architecture Awards. I’m particularly proud that Harold Park was recognised by the Australian Institute of Landscape Architects (NSW) with the Landscape Architecture Award – Parks and Open Space.

The National Awards for the Australian Institute of Architects, the Australian Institute of Landscape Architects and the Australian Urban Design Awards will be announced later in the year.

This year, the following City of Sydney projects were awarded:

Green Square Library and Plaza, Studio Hollenstein with Stewart Architecture and Hassell

·                Public Architecture Award, NSW Architecture Awards

·                Lloyd Rees Award for Urban Design, NSW Architecture Awards

·                John Verge Award for Interior Architecture, NSW Architecture Awards

·                NSW Premier’s Prize, NSW Architecture Awards

·                Landscape Architecture Award – Civic Landscape, NSW Landscape Architecture Awards

·                Libraries Award, 2019 World Architecture Awards

Harold Park, JMD Design

·                Landscape Architecture Award – Parks and Open Space, NSW Landscape Architecture Awards

Harold Park – entire development, Mirvac Design, Government Architects Office (GANSW), City of Sydney and Hassell, JMD Design

·                City of Sydney Lord Mayor’s Prize, NSW Architecture Awards

Green Square Trunk Drainage – Drying Green Alliance

·                Australian Water Association, NSW 2019 Infrastructure Project Innovation Award

It is important to acknowledge the work of the architects who worked with City staff on these projects. I would like to congratulate Stewart Hollenstein with Stewart Architecture and Hassell, Mirvac Design, JMD Design and the Government Architects Office.

It is equally important to acknowledge the many contractors and suppliers who worked with us including Lahey Constructions, Gledhill Constructions, Iquon, Drying Green Alliance, Ford Civil and John Holland Group as the head contractors. 

The success of these projects also relies on City staff who worked on them from their conception through to delivery. They should be congratulated and include:

Matthew Gribben, Michelle Samuel, Joel Munns, John Malcolm, Chris McBride, Paula Yu, Ebony Heslop, Samantha Carroll, Damon La’Rance, Chris Thomas, Tony Moore, Jason Green, Cathy Rush, Peter Cooper, Tracey Hargans, Irene Fakas, Lauren Simpson, Sue Anderson, Amarnath Reddy, Amit Chanan, Ann Hoban, Lillian Xue, Lisa Dodd and Kathleen Ng.


It is resolved that Council acknowledges these well-deserved awards that pay tribute to the skill and commitment of City staff and the Design Advisory Panel who worked with us to deliver these high quality projects, and commend the architects, contractors and suppliers for their excellent work.


Lord Mayor

Moved by the Lord Mayor, seconded by Councillor Thalis –

That the minute by the Lord Mayor be endorsed and adopted.

Carried unanimously.


Report author: Erin Cashman

Publication date: 19/08/2019

Date of decision: 19/08/2019

Decided at meeting: 19/08/2019 - Council

Accompanying Documents: