Looking after our City

Our Council Committees make decisions and recommendations for their delegated areas of responsibility. The five committees are:


·         Corporate, Finance, Properties and Tenders Committee

·         Environment Committee

·         Cultural and Community Committee

·         Transport, Heritage and Planning Committee

·         Local Pedestrian, Cycling and Traffic Calming Committee


The Central Sydney Planning Committee and the Central Sydney Traffic and Transport Committee involve City of Sydney representatives but they are separate decision-making bodies to Council.


The Committees meet regularly and members of the public are welcome to participate.



Some of the Committees defer matters to their Sub-Committees.

Corporate, Finance, Properties and Tenders Committee:

·         Economic Development and Business Sub-Committee

Cultural and Community Committee:

·         Cultural and Creative Sub-Committee

·         Healthy Communities Sub-Committee


Committee policies and procedures

·         The structure and functions of Committees are standing policy of Council.

·         All correspondence to Committees and Sub-Committees shall be handled through normal Council processes.

·         All Committees and Sub-Committees shall be advisory to Council and have no independent role, except where specific authorities are delegated to them by Council.

·         Matters dealt with in Committee shall be submitted to Council without recommendation only when the chairperson so determines.

·         The Chairpersons of Standing Committees and Sub-Committees shall have a casting vote in the event of an equality of voting.


Code of meeting practice


Find out how we conduct our meetings.



Planning Committee

Traffic Committee