Local Pedestrian, Cycling and Traffic Calming Committee


Keeping on track


Transport for NSW (RMS) is the organisation responsible for the control of traffic on all roads in NSW. In order to deal with the large number and range of traffic-related matters effectively, Transport for NSW (RMS) has delegated certain aspects of traffic control on local roads to councils.


The Transport for NSW (RMS) delegation to councils limits the types of prescribed traffic control devices and facilities that a council can authorise and imposes certain conditions on councils. One of these conditions requires councils to refer all traffic-related matters to its traffic committee prior to exercising its delegated functions.


The Local Pedestrian, Cycling and Traffic Calming Committee (LPCTCC) considers the needs of pedestrians, cyclists and motorists in the City of Sydney.


The LPCTCC is an advisory body only, having no decision-making powers. It is, primarily, a technical review committee that is required to advise Council on traffic-related matters referred by Council. Proposals recommended by the LPCTCC must be formally approved by either the elected Council or authorised Council staff – depending on the nature of the proposal.


Council is not bound by the advice given by the LPCTCC. However, if Council does wish to act contrary to the unanimous advice of its traffic committee, or when the advice is not unanimous, it must notify the committee members and wait 14 days before proceeding. During this period, committee members may refer an appeal to the Regional Traffic Committee (RTC).


The purpose of the RTC, appointed by Transport for NSW (RMS), is to deal with appeals from Transport for NSW (RMS), or NSW Police members of the LPCTCC. Appeals can be lodged when Council wishes to take action either contrary to the unanimous advice of the traffic committee, or when the advice is not unanimous. The decision of the RTC is binding on all parties.



There are four formal members of the Committee:


Four formal (voting) representatives, one from each of the following:


·                City of Sydney Council (Chairperson)

·                NSW Police Force

·                Transport for NSW (RMS)

·                local state Members of Parliament or their nominee

·                relevant NSW Government agency (where applicable)**


Note: Representatives of the NSW Police Force and representatives of state MPs can only vote on issues within their command or electorate respectively.


**Note: The NSW Government agencies are formal (voting) member for matters relating to roads over which they have jurisdiction only (for example, Property NSW / Place Management NSW / Infrastructure NSW). The City of Sydney Council is not a formal (voting) member for these matters.


Informal (non-voting) representatives, where relevant, from each of the following:


·                State Transit Authority

·                Transport Workers Union

·                cycling representative appointed by the Lord Mayor.

·                pedestrian representative appointed by the Lord Mayor.


The Chairperson and their alternate shall be determined by Council. Views of informal members are considered but not binding.